Oh fudge!

I posted pumpkin fudge around Halloween, but recently I made chocolate fudge. The process for chocolate fudge is exactly the same as pumpkin, but I’ll go through it once more. You only need 6 ingredients, 5 if you count vanilla as an ingredient. I actually forgot to add the vanilla and it didn’t make a big difference. Some people say it enhances the flavor. I think that’s true if you’re using real vanilla, but I only have the imitation stuff, which doesn’t really cut it most of the time. Also, when using chocolate make sure you store it at room temperature, unless it’s very humid where you live. I bought the chocolate I used for this recipe in August and I live in the NE, so it gets very humid, so I stored it in the refrigerator. When the weather turned cold, I should have taken it out, but didn’t and when I went to use it to make fudge, the chocolate had bloomed. When chocolate blooms, it gets that grayish tint to it. This means the cocoa butter in the chocolate separated. Not a big deal. It’s still fine to use, but it won’t have that nice, deep color. So what I’m saying is to properly store your chocolate.

Oh before going into the recipe, don’t attempt to make this without a candy thermometer because testing for soft ball stage is just way too hard and then you have to cool the fudge to 120 degrees, so please just get a candy thermometer.

Ingredients:

4 1-ounce squares unsweetened chocolate

3 cups sugar

2 tbsp light corn syrup

1 1/4 cups milk

4 tbsp butter

1 tsp vanilla

Directions:

Line an 8 inch square pan with foil and spray the foil with cooking spray.

Melt chocolate in pan over very low heat. Stir in sugar, corn syrup, and milk. Increase heat to medium and cook, stirring until sugar dissolves.. Cook to 238F on candy thermometer. Remove from heat, and without stirring, add butter.

Let cool in the pan to 120F. Add vanilla and beat until mixture begins to thicken. It will begin to lose its shine, that’s when you want to pour it in the pan. Don’t wait to long or it will set as you are mixing it, which is not fun at all. I had to mix about 1 min.

Pour mixture into the pan and cut into squares when cool. It will last one week sitting out or about 3 weeks in the refrigerator.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

