Vegetable Frittata

When making this, I’ll admit, I was a little afraid. I hate eggs. I hate the smell, I hate the taste, I hate the look. They’re just gross. Oh and I hate cottage cheese. It just looks unpleasant. So you may wonder why this recipe was even an option?! Well it looked good in the picture…and it was good. I couldn’t taste the egg or even the cottage cheese. Maybe because of all the cheese I mixed in. Whatever the reason, I liked it…and you should try it too.

Note: The recipe says to use (1) 16 ounce package frozen broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots, but I used fresh broccoli, carrots, and frozen peas. Just eyeball it to see if everything is proportional. Also, you need to use a pan that can move from the stove to the oven. I used the Dutch oven.

Ingredients:

3 large eggs, plus 3 whites

3/4 cup reduced fat cottage cheese

4 ounces smoked gouda, shredded (about 1 cup) (I used mozzarella because I had it home, and I probably used more than 1 cup)

1 teaspoon minced rosemary (I used Italian seasoning instead)

3 cloves garlic, sliced thinly

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 medium onion, chopped

Kosher salt

16 ounce package frozen vegetables or fresh (See note above)

2 tablespoons Parmesan cheese

1 teaspoon paprika

4 slices bread (optional)

Directions:

1- Position rack in the middle third of the oven and preheat to 450 degrees.

2- Whisk the eggs and whites in a bowl. Add the cottage cheese and whisk until smooth. Whisk in the cheese and rosemary or other seasoning.

3- Cook the garlic in the olive oil over medium high heat until it starts to brown. Add the onion, season with salt and cook 2 minutes. Add the remaining vegetables, turn heat up to high, and cook about 5 minutes, or until just tender.

4- Reduce heat to medium. Spread the egg mixture evenly in the pan. Cook, undisturbed, until a thin crust forms on the bottom, about 2 minutes. Run a spatula around the edge of the pan to release the pan. Continue cooking until the bottom is golden, about 2-3 minutes.

5- Sprinkle with paprika and Parmesan. Transfer to oven and bake until just set, 5-7 minutes. Remove from oven, cover, and let sit for another 5-7 minutes. Serve with the bread, if using.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

