Baked Potatoes

When I was young, I used to go to Wendy’s all the time for a baked potato with chives and sour cream and a small chili. This probably happened once a week. Those potatoes were so good, but as I recall, I never used to like the skin. I would put my toppings on and then just eat the inside. I can’t believe I didn’t like the skin! It has to be one of the best parts! When done right, it can be crunchy and full of flavor! So, last night we were stuck for what to make for dinner. Jim suggested baked potatoes. Of course I went all out on mine, while Jim went the boring route and just opted for a can of vegetarian chili. Luckily you can customize potatoes any way you want.

When deciding what type of potato to bake, you can use really any potato, but the typical type used is a Russet potato because of its starchiness. The starchiness is what gives the potato its fluffiness when baked.

Ingredients:

1- Potatoes

2- Whatever toppings you want

Directions:

1- pre heat the oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit.

2- Wash the potatoes really well. Dry them.

3- Poke holes in the potato with a fork (about 4-5 pricks should do it).

4- Brush with olive oil and put some sea salt and pepper on the potato.

5- Place the potato on a sheet of foil and bake for at least an hour. You can go longer if you want crunchier skin.

6- Once out of the oven, cut the potato open to cool off and to add your toppings.

To my potato I added:

1- beef (I had a small amount frozen)

2- onion, pepper, and garlic (which I sauteed)

3- chives

4- basil

5- avocado (yum!)

6- olives

7- freshly grated Parmesan

And to drink:

We had Samuel Adams Rustic Saison, which is a fruity beer with a hoppy character.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

